Walking, Climbing and Nearly Crawling Up a Mountain

*Please note: This post was first published on the blog I kept in 2011 while studying abroad*

So today was the first excursion of the hiking club to a mountain near Orozko, Spain. When I first heard about the hiking club I thought, sure I’ll do it. I love hiking!

If you’re from Nebraska and have never hiked up a mountain (a real mountain, not a tourist-friendly one) you have no right to think you know anything about hiking. The next day my calves were sore, my feet were sore, my whole body was sore! And was it worth it? Absolutely! I hope to go on the next trip as well. Valío la pena.

The view was stupendous and I was able to talk in Spanish more than I usually do. I discovered that even when panting while crawling up a mountain I can still hold a conversation in Spanish.

Almost to the top!
Almost to the top!

We also got lost at one point because those of us from the U.S. and Latin American got separated from the main group. We ended up cutting straight up the mountain slope and over a barbed-wire fence to reach the rest of the group. It was certainly an adventure!

IMG_0895
This is when we got lost and had to scale the side of the mountain which is hidden in this picture
Leave a Reply

